Joint Committee of Ministers

The Joint Committee of Ministers is the highest CEEPUS body. It meets every other year and takes all basic decisions, such as accepting new member states by unanimous invitation, deciding on further program development and taking any other major decision. And of course the Joint Committee of Ministers is in charge of the CEEPUS budget and the CEEPUS internal currency, which is “1 scholarship month”, defined as a full scholarship according to the local standard of living. Each year all countries pledge the number of incoming scholarship months they will make available for the next academic year.

The Joint Committee of Ministers is presided by one of its members, elected as CEEPUS Chair. The current CEEPUS Chair is Croatia.


Current Chair: 2017 - 2019 Croatia
Previous Chair: 2015 - 2017 Romania
2013 - 2015 Czech Republic
2011 - 2013 Austria
2010/2011 Poland
2009/2010 Montenegro
2008/2009 Romania
2007/2008 Bulgaria
2006/2007 Croatia
2005/2006 Slovenia
2004/2005 Austria
2003/2004 Poland
2002/2003 Croatia
2001/2002 Slovakia
2000/2001 Romania
1999/2000 Bulgaria
1998/1999 Czech Republic
1997/1998 Hungary
1996/1997 Slovenia
1995/1996 Austria
1994/1995 Austria

legal basis

CEEPUS III Agreement, Article 3

(1) A Joint Committee of Ministers, hereinafter “Joint Committee”, composed of one representative of each of the Contracting Parties, is hereby established. The Joint Committee shall be responsible for all measures and decisions necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement, including the approval of evaluation reports. The Joint Committee shall adopt a work programme for the CEEPUS III cooperation.

(2) The Joint Committee shall meet as deemed necessary. It shall adopt its own rules of procedure and shall elect one of its members as Chairperson. It may establish working groups required for the implementation of this Agreement and decide on their composition.

(3) The Joint Committee shall make every effort to reach agreement by consensus regarding all decisions. If all efforts at consensus have been exhausted, and no consensus reached, decisions shall as a last resort be adopted by a two-thirds majority vote of the members of the Joint Committee present and voting.

(4) The Joint Committee shall unanimously adopt decisions on the total amount of CEEPUS III scholarship months based on the announcement made in accordance with Article 1 paragraph 5.

bottom picture

Copyright 2012, © Central CEEPUS Office, Design:, All Rights Reserved.